Saturday, 6 March 2010

Troy Series - David Gemmell

David Gemmell, who sadly passed away in 2006, had a wonderful gritty, character driven writing style - his heroes often a refreshing change from the typical overly idealised fantasy book character. He was also a big fan of semi-historical fiction and his final series of books, the Troy series, is a great example of this that also plays on his familiar writing strengths.

The series centres around events leading up to and following the siege of Troy and feature diverse mythological characters such as Odysseus, Priam and Achilles. The stories masterfully incorporate these characters and events of Homeric fame in to a unique and truly epic tale. The first book introduces us to Helikaon - a Dardanian prince, Andromache - betrothed of the Trojan prince Hektor and Argurios - a famed Mykene warrior. In true Gemmell style, throughout the series we get to see these characters develop, gaining insight in to the events in their lives that have shaped who they are. Typically for Gemmell the books are punctuated with thrilling combat and violence and a fair share of political intrigue, with the momentum maintained throughout.

I'd thoroughly recommend the series to readers old and new to Gemmell alike. As usual he has produced another crop of thoroughly Good Fantasy Books!

Buy on Amazon USA
Lord of the Silver Bow (Troy Trilogy, Book 1)Troy: Shield of ThunderTroy: Fall of Kings (Troy (Ballantine Books))

Buy on Amazon UK
Troy: Lord of the Silver Bow (Trojan War Trilogy): 1
Troy: Shield of Thunder (Trojan War Trilogy): 2
Troy: Fall of Kings (Trojan War Trilogy): 3

No comments:

Post a Comment